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SUBJECT: HOURS OF WORK AND REST BREAKS 
 
 
 

CATEGORY: HUMAN RESOURCES 
 
 

 

 

Policy 
 
The purpose of this policy is to establish guidelines, procedures, and expectations to 
consistently manage employees’ hours of work and rest breaks in accordance with applicable 
federal and state laws, regulations, and the rules of the Idaho Division of Human Resources 
(DHR).  
 
It is therefore the policy of the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections (IDJC) that all eligible 
employees receive compensation for working overtime and are provided with meal periods and 
rest breaks in accordance with the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Idaho Code. 
 

Operating Procedures 
 

I. Hours of work and overtime 
  

A. IDJC full time employees work a 40-hour week.  Employee’s hours of work and 
work schedules are determined and approved in accordance with Work Schedules 
(348) policy and procedure.  Overtime is  compensated in accordance with the 
federal FLSA. 

 
B. All overtime must be approved by the employee’s immediate supervisor prior to 

overtime being worked (Note: Exceptions can be made to this requirement of 
advance approval in circumstances where emergencies involving juvenile health 
and/or safety are concerned.  In this instance, the employee is to document the 
emergency under the “Comments” section of their electronic timesheet).   

 
C. An employee may be required to work overtime, as deemed necessary by the 

supervisor. Supervisors are required to evaluate the need for overtime, as well as 
assignments, to limit the impact of overtime on employees.   

 
D. Employees are expected to finish their work in a timely manner in order to limit the 

use of overtime.  Supervisors are responsible for monitoring the use of overtime on 
an ongoing basis.  Employee counseling may be necessary when employees 
abuse the use of overtime, particularly with respect to beginning work prior to the 
scheduled time and continuing work beyond the scheduled time when not 
necessary or approved by the supervisor. 
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II. Accrued compensatory time  
 

A. Limitation of maximum accrued hours  
 

1. FLSA-covered employee may not accrue more than 80 hours of compensatory 
time without the prior written approval of the Division Administrator.  
  

2. FLSA non-covered employees, except those classified as Executive, accrue 
compensatory hours at a rate of one hour for one hour and may not accrue 
hours in excess of 240 hours. 

   
3. FLSA non-covered employees who are classified as Executive are ineligible for 

compensatory time.  
 

B. Use of accrued compensatory time for FLSA-covered employees 
 
 1. Accrued compensatory time must be used before vacation leave provided 

that this does not cause the employee to lose vacation due to the maximum 
accrual provision of section 67-5334, Idaho Code. 

 
 2. Compensatory time must be used before leave without pay (LWO) 

commences.  
 
 3. For covered employees, every effort should be made to deplete prior six 

month compensatory time balance.  Compensatory time accrued between 
January 1st and June 30th should be used by December 31st of that same 
year.  Compensatory time accrued between July 1st and December 31st 
should be used by June 30th of the following year.  In circumstances where 
the employee is unable to deplete their prior six month compensatory time 
balance, hours not used must be paid out, per section 67-5328, Idaho Code. 

 
 4. When a covered employee is promoted or reclassified to a grade which 

changes the employee to administrative, computer worker, or professional, all 
accrued but unused compensatory time will be paid out at the time of the 
action.   

 
 5. Accrued but unused compensatory time must be paid out at the employee’s 

final regular hourly rate or the average regular hourly rate received during the 
last three years of employment, whichever is greater, at the time of the 
transfer to another state agency or upon separation from state service.   

 
C. Use of accrued compensatory time for FLSA non-covered (Administrative, 

Computer Worker and Professional) employees 
 
 1. With prior approval of their supervisor, an employee may take compensatory 

time off to the extent such time has been accrued.  
 
 2. Accumulated compensatory time cannot be transferred to another state 

agency.  All accrued time will be forfeited when an employee transfers to 
another state agency or upon separation from state employment.  

 
3. Compensatory time forfeited at the time of the transfer or separation cannot 

be reinstated at a later date.   
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III. Meal periods 
 

A. Neither Federal nor Idaho law requires employers to provide employees with a 
meal period.  However, supervisors are encouraged to set employee schedules to 
allow for a minimum 30-minute meal period.  Supervisors do have the authority to 
require that employees take an unpaid meal period.  

 
B. Uninterrupted meal periods of at least 30 minutes will not be considered time 

worked in calculating compensation for FLSA-covered employees. 
 
C. Employees who are granted meal periods are not to interfere in any manner with 

the work of other employees who are not on a meal period or with the normal 
operation or efficiency of IDJC. 

 
D. If an employee is required to return to work prior to completion of 20 minutes of 

meal period, the employee shall be compensated for all time, as if it had been a 
rest break.  Following a  required return to work, the supervisor shall, if possible, 
provide opportunity for the employee to have a non-compensated meal period of 
30 minutes. 

 
IV. Rest breaks 

 
A. Neither Federal nor Idaho law requires employers to provide employees with rest 

breaks.  However, supervisors are encouraged to set employee schedules to 
allow for rest breaks as appropriate.  Breaks are considered a privilege and not a 
right. 

 
B. Rest breaks, as distinct from uninterrupted meal periods, will be counted as time 

worked for pay purposes. 
 
C. As work permits, and with supervisory approval, employees are allowed up to one 

15-minute break within each full four hours of their shift; breaks should be taken 
as close to the middle of the four hours as possible.  There is no guarantee that 
any employee will be provided regular breaks.   

 
D. When requested and circumstances permit, supervisors have the discretion of 

allowing employees to split their total 15 minutes into two mini-breaks. 
 
E. Breaks may not be accumulated, for example, combining breaks during a shift to 

allow for 30 minutes of break time at one time, or saving breaks over a period of 
days. 

 
F. Breaks are not to be attached to a meal period to extend the meal period or to the 

end of a shift to allow the individual to leave prior to the end of the scheduled shift. 
 

V. Nursing mothers breaks 
 
A. The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 amended Section 7 of the 

FLSA to provide breaks for nursing mothers and a place for nursing mothers to 
express milk. 

 
B. The nursing mother will be provided with a reasonable amount of break time to 

express milk, as frequently as needed, for up to one year after the child’s birth.  
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C. IDJC will designate areas, other than a bathroom, that are shielded from view and 
free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by an 
employee to express breast milk. 

 
 
Reference: Glossary of Terms and Acronyms 

Sections 59-1607, 67-5302, 67-5328, and 67-5334, Idaho Code  
   Division of Human Resources Rule 260-262 
   Fair Labor Standards Act  
   Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 
 
Desk Manual(s): N/A 
 
Related Policies: Compensation (346) 
   Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Leave (352) 
   Flextime and Telecommuting (351) 
   Special Leave Policy (334) 

Time Records and Reporting (350) 
   Work Schedules (348) 
   Fair Labor Standards Act (321) 
 
Related Forms:  Compensatory Time Notice (DJC-078) 

http://djcnamsp1/Glossary%20of%20Terms%20%20Acronyms/Glossary%20of%20Terms%20and%20Acronyms.doc
http://djcnamsp1/Policies%20and%20Procedures/346.docx
http://djcnamsp1/Policies%20and%20Procedures/352.docx
http://djcnamsp1/Policies%20and%20Procedures/351.docx
http://djcnamsp1/Policies%20and%20Procedures/334.docx
http://djcnamsp1/Policies%20and%20Procedures/350.docx
http://djcnamsp1/Policies%20and%20Procedures/348.docx
http://djcnamsp1/Policies%20and%20Procedures/321.docx
http://djcnamsp1/Department%20Forms%202/078.docx
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