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Policy
On occasion, state employees or their family members have a serious illness or injury and are impacted financially due to the lack of accrued leave during this event. It is the intent of the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections (IDJC) to minimize the financial impact on our employees, to the extent possible, during these times. Idaho Code §67-5334 provides that the IDJC Director may approve IDJC employees to donate accrued vacation leave to another eligible state employee for use as paid sick leave.

It is therefore the policy of the IDJC to support the transfer of vacation leave from one state employee to be converted to sick leave for use by another state employee when they or their family member have a serious illness or injury as defined in the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Leave (352) policy and procedure. 
Operating Procedure
I. [bookmark: Receiving_Donated_Leave]Receiving Donated Leave

A. Eligibility.  To receive donated leave, an employee must:

1. Have completed entrance probation if a classified employee;

2. Request donations through Human Resources (HR) or ask their supervisor to make the request on their behalf;

3. Be eligible to accrue sick and vacation leave; 

4. Have exhausted all of their accrued compensatory, sick and vacation leave;

5. Be suffering from a serious illness or disability, or have a family member with a serious illness, disability or death and funeral necessitating the employee's absence from work. Family member is defined as: spouse, child, foster child, parent, brother, sister, grandparent, grandchild, or the same relation by marriage, or legal guardian; and

6. Not exceed the maximum of 160 hours of donated leave per fiscal year.  

II. [bookmark: Donating_Leave]Donating Leave

A. Eligibility.  To donate leave, an employee must:
 
1. Donate a minimum of four hours; 

2. Have a vacation leave balance that exceeds 80 hours after the donation; and
 
3. Not exceed a maximum of 80 hours of vacation leave donated per fiscal year.
  
B. [bookmark: Conversion_Details]Process
 
		1. 	When the amount of leave needed can be determined in advance

		a) 	Once an employee or supervisor requests leave donations, HR will solicit donations from the employee’s immediate work unit.
 
b) 	If enough hours are not received to satisfy the request the solicitation will then be made to all IDJC employees. 
 
c) 	If enough hours are still not received the request will be made to all Idaho state agencies through the HR email list. 

d) 	Employees wishing to donate will complete the Idaho State Controller’s Office Transfer of Vacation Hours/Receipt of Sick Hours form (EIS 180) and forward to HR. 

e) 	When an employee wishes to donate time to an employee in another state agency, the EIS 180 form is completed and sent by the donating employee’s agency to the receiving agency.

f) 	Both donating and receiving sections of the form must have an Appointing Authority Signature even if the agency is the same in both cases.

		2.       When the amount of leave needed cannot be determined in 					advance, HR will not solicit leave donations. 
	
3. 	Employees on Intermittent Leave who request donated leave for    a prior payroll period will not have the leave donation requested or approved for that prior time period.
			
Example: The two week payroll period ended on June 6. The employee was out on intermittent leave and is short 3.6 hours of paid time for that pay period. The employee requests leave donations on June 9 (for that prior pay period.)  Leave donations will not be requested or approved for that time. 

III. Conversion Details

A. Donated vacation leave will be converted to sick leave on a one-hour to one-hour basis and will be paid out at the receiving employee’s current salary. 

B. Any unused leave that has been donated to an employee will remain in their sick leave accrual balance until used. Any unused leave cannot be returned to the employee who made the donation. HR will attempt to obtain only the number of hours needed in each particular case.

IV. [bookmark: Fiscal_Obligations]Fiscal Obligation

The organizational unit of the receiving employee will assume the financial responsibility for all donated leave used by the receiving employee. 

V. [bookmark: Confidentiality]Confidentiality

A. [bookmark: _GoBack]The names of employees who donate time will remain confidential and, in most cases, will not be provided to the employee receiving donated time. This confidentiality is intended to preclude any repercussions for employees who do not donate leave as well as for those who do donate.  

B. The names of employees requesting donated leave will remain confidential and will not be shared with other employees being asked to donate leave without the express written permission of the employee requesting donated leave. Written permission to release the name of the employee requesting donated leave must be provided to HR and only HR can release that information. 

C. The nature of the serious illness or injury causing the employee to request and receive donated leave will also be kept private. This information will not be shared with other employees who are being asked to donate leave without the express written permission of the employee requesting donated leave.  

D. An employee requesting donated leave who has provided written authorization for the release of their name or the nature of their serious illness or injury can revoke that authorization at any time. Any such revocation must be in writing and provided to HR.

Reference:		Glossary of Terms and Acronyms
Idaho Code §67-5334
			IDAPA 15.04.01–Rules of the Division of Human Resources & Idaho 					Personnel Commission 240.03

Desk Manual(s):	N/A

Related Policies:	Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Leave (352)

Related Forms:	Transfer of Vacation Hours/Receipt of Sick Hours form (EIS 180), Idaho State Controller’s Office
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