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Policy

Timesheets are a legal document and should always be recorded and submitted electronically through I-Time as provided by the State Controller’s Office, and care must be taken by both the employee and the supervisor to ensure that hours and shift differential reported are accurate.   

It is therefore the policy of the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections (IDJC) to utilize a “positive time reporting” system, which requires employees to complete a timesheet for all time worked as well as any leave taken.  

Operating Procedure

I. Executive Employee Responsibilities

A. Job classifications determined by the Idaho Department of Human Resources (DHR) for classified positions or the agency head for non-classified positions to be “Executive” under applicable federal and state law are paid on a salary (vs. hourly) basis.
     
B. Executive employees only report their time on an exception basis.

1. All absences from work during the business week in excess of one-half day shall be reported and recorded using the appropriate leave category.
 
2. Any hours worked over and above 40 hours for the work week are not reported and do not result in compensatory time. 

3. Executive employees receive eight hours of holiday pay on each state holiday. If the employee works more than one-half day on a holiday, no additional compensation is allowed, but the employee may, with supervisor approval, take an alternative half or full day off as the holiday.

4. Executive employees are not eligible for shift differential. 


II. Employee Responsibilities
[This section does not apply to Executive employees]

A. Employees are expected to complete timesheets on a daily basis, accurately reflecting all hours actually worked, any leave taken, and the appropriate shift differential coding, if applicable. Timesheets should be submitted by the employee no later than noon on the Sunday following the end of the pay period.

Employees are required to report all hours worked. Supervisors are prohibited from impeding an employee to report actual hours worked.  In the event an employee works hours that were not authorized in advance, the employee will be compensated for the hours worked, but may be subject to corrective and/or disciplinary action if policies and procedures for advance approval were not followed.

B. Per the State Controller’s Office Statewide Payroll Policy, the state’s payroll week begins at 12:00 a.m. on Sunday morning and ends at 11:59 p.m. on Saturday night. For purposes of time reporting, employees are to report hours in I-Time on the day the hours are worked (for example, if an employee works an overnight shift that starts at 10:00 p.m. on Monday and ends at 6:00 a.m. on Tuesday, the employee records two hours on Monday and six hours on Tuesday).  

It is the supervisor’s responsibility to ensure full-time employees are scheduled for 40 hours each week.

C. Flextime, compressed, or telecommuting work schedules must comply with relevant IDJC policies and procedures. Flex or compressed schedules may be suspended during any week in which there is a holiday.

All time worked must be reported.  No employee is permitted to work “off the clock”.   

D.   Less Than One Hour Time Coding

When coding time less than one hour, refer to the chart below:
	
	Actual Time
	Should be coded

	Less than 3 minutes
	.0

	From 3 to 8 minutes
	.1

	From 9 to 14 minutes
	.2

	From 15 to 20 minutes
	.3

	From 21 to 26 minutes
	.4

	From 27 to 32 minutes
	.5

	From 33 to 38 minutes
	.6

	From 39 to 45 minutes
	.7

	From 46 to 50 minutes
	.8

	From 51 to 56 minutes
	.9



E.   Comments

Employees should enter comments to explain all periods of leave (including jury and military leave), unscheduled extended shifts (more than ten hours/day), leave without pay, administrative leave with pay, if called back into work, and any excessive hours of overtime (more than ten hours/week). Employees are expected to request any leave time in accordance with IDJC policy and to submit necessary paperwork as required (e.g., doctor notes, jury summons, and military orders).

F. Employees are responsible for the accuracy of their timesheet. All time reported must be true and correct. An employee who submits inaccurate time reporting may be subject to disciplinary action.  

G.  Use of Accrued Leave 

The use of accrued leave (e.g., compensatory time, on-call time, sick leave, vacation leave) should be recorded only to the extent necessary to achieve full pay of 40 hours per week. Hours reported in excess of 40 for the week should result only from time actually worked and/or any on-call hours earned. 
 
H.  Sequence of Leave

1.	For time off work, leave must be taken in the following order:

a. On-call hours (OCT)
b. Compensatory Leave (CPT)
c. Vacation (VAC) 
If an employee is within 20 hours of their vacation accrual balance maximum, the employee will be allowed to use vacation hours prior to any on-call or compensatory balances.

Note: For payroll purposes, when an employee does not have enough accrued leave hours to cover the coded leave hours taken, the current payroll system will automatically default to other leave balances (not including sick leave) in the order below. When the employee is out of all relevant leave, the system will default to Leave Without Pay (LWOP). For any questions, contact the IDJC Headquarters Fiscal Office or your Human Resources (HR) contact.

	VAC (if balance is 0, system will default to COMP, then LWOP)

	COMP (if balance is 0, system will default to VAC, then LWOP)



2.	When the employee or qualifying family member is sick or injured, the timesheet should be coded using sick leave or the appropriate Family Medical Leave (FML) code as designated by HR.

3.	For payroll purposes, when an employee does not have enough accrued sick leave hours to cover the coded leave hours taken, the current payroll system will automatically default to other leave balances in the order shown below. 

	SIC (if balance is 0, system will default to COMP, then VAC, then LWOP)



		When the employee is out of all relevant leave, the system will default to LWOP. For any questions, contact the IDJC Headquarters fiscal office or HR contact.

Employees may code on-call hours for sick leave; however, the system will not automatically pull from that balance. The employee must code OCT themselves. 

4. Sick leave cannot be used to supplement vacation hours. 

I. Holiday Leave 

1.	Idaho Code identifies the ten holidays to which state employees are entitled and provides that holidays falling on Saturday are designated to be observed on Friday and holidays falling on Sunday are designated to be observed on Monday. All employees, no matter what their workweek, are entitled to ten paid holidays. Paid time off for holidays is a benefit, and as such, must be allocated in a substantially similar manner to all employees in the same classification.  

2.	An employee must receive some paid leave, wages or salary for the pay period in which the holiday occurs to receive the holiday benefit.  

3. Due to the staffing needs of the IDJC (24x7 operations of the three juvenile correctional facilities), the IDJC provides holiday overtime compensation to all employees (benefit eligible or not and full time or not) who work on the actual holiday as well as those who work on the designated holiday.  An employee who is required to work both days may only receive holiday pay for one of the days.

Hours worked on the holiday must be reported on the time sheet the same day as the holiday. If the employee works the holiday and is eligible for compensation at time-and-a-half, the employee will additionally code the holiday hours worked using HOA (for compensatory time) or HOW (for paid time) in accordance with the Compensatory Time Agreement on file. If the employee is classified as Administrative or Professional under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and earns comp time at straight time, the employee will code the holiday hours worked as HOS.  

In the event the employee works both the actual and the designated holiday, the scheduled day with the greatest number of hours scheduled will be the day the employee will report holiday hours worked. The employee will report actual time worked on that day as HOA or HOW (if FLSA-covered) and HOS (if administrative or professional).

For example, the 4th of July falls on Sunday but the state of Idaho designated observed date is Monday.

Scenario 1: The employee works on the actual holiday date but is not scheduled to work on the designated date. The employee will code hours worked on the actual holiday as HOA or HOW (if FLSA-covered) and HOS (if administrative or professional).

Scenario 2: The employee does not work on the actual holiday date, but is scheduled to work on the designated date. The employee will code hours worked on the designated observed date as HOA or HOW (if FLSA-covered) and HOS (if administrative or professional).

Scenario 3: The employee is scheduled to work six hours on the actual holiday and eight hours on the designated date. The employee will code eight hours on the designated date as HOA or HOW (if FLSA-covered) and HOS (if administrative or professional).  

The state recognized holidays that are affected are:
· New Year’s Day		January 1
· Independence Day		July 4
· Veterans Day			November 11
· Christmas Day              	December 25

4. Flex or compressed schedules may be suspended during any week in which there is a holiday. Supervisors should make the necessary schedule adjustments during a holiday week to limit an employee’s work and leave hours (not including the holiday) to 32 hours.

5. Full-time employees will receive eight (8) hours holiday pay benefit (HOL) on the holiday week.

6. A part-time employee who has a regular work schedule shall be paid for a holiday in the same ratio as eight hours is to a 40-hour work week, which for calculation purposes converts to .20 of hours normally worked. If a part-time employee’s hourly schedule is so irregular that a normal workweek cannot be determined, the holiday benefit is in the same proportion that the hours the employee works during a week in which a holiday occurs relate to 40.

J.	Unscheduled Return to Work

Employees who are called back to their official workstations by an authorized supervisor to work an unscheduled shift or for a meeting will receive, at minimum, two hours of ACT.  If the call in is for longer than two hours, the employee will code the actual hours worked. 

K.	On-Call Time (OCE)

1. The following standards apply in determining whether an employee is in on-call status:

a. The Division Administrator/Superintendent has approved the on-call assignment. 

b. The employee is at a location other than an official IDJC work site during the on-call period; and   
 
c. The employee is expected to arrive at the facility within 60 minutes of notification; and 

d. The employee will be on 24-hour call; and

e. The employee is scheduled by their supervisor or manager to be on-call for specific full or partial shifts; and

f. The employee must carry a cell phone or be quickly reachable by telephone; and 

g. The employee is confined to a relatively limited geographical area while on-call, unless specifically authorized otherwise.

h. The employee on-call must comply with Ethics and Standards of Conduct (324) policy and procedure and Drug-free Workplace (327) policy and procedure requirements during the on-call shift.  

2.	Employees are not considered to be on-call if they are required to be at   an official work site–they should be reporting time as hours actually worked.  

3.  Assignment and Documentation Required

a. The Division Administrator/Superintendent must approve any on-call assignment in advance of it being communicated to an employee.

b. Each employee assigned to on-call will serve in that status for a period of one week (seven days), beginning on a Tuesday and ending on the following Monday. Employees will receive on-call time in the following manner: One hour for each workday, two hours for each weekend day, and four hours for each holiday, and will code them as On-Call Earned (OCE) during the week they are in on-call status.

c. The IDJC recognizes the need to provide compensation to the employee for on-call time because of the disruption to personal life and schedules.  Any actual work performed is in addition to (not part of) on-call time.
 
d. All time actually worked while in on-call status must be reported as ACT time in accordance with Section II C. above and supported by documentation in the duty officer narrative log in accordance with Duty Officer Responsibilities (621) policy and procedure, or as required by the supervisor and Division Administrator / Superintendent for on-call assignments not related to a duty officer role. 

e. Employees designated to be on-call who are called and requested to respond at the facility are not covered under Section II. Item I. Unscheduled Return to Work, and there is no minimum guaranteed time.
  		
Examples:

i.  The duty officer or suicide evaluator receives a call at home from the facility regarding an incident. The phone call lasts seven minutes. The duty officer records the incident in the narrative log and reports .1 hour of ACT time for this call.

ii.  The duty officer or suicide evaluator is called and is requested to respond at the facility. The time from when the duty officer or suicide evaluator arrives at the facility until they leave the facility must be reported as ACT time in accordance with Section II. C. above. The incident must be documented in the weekly duty officer report (Policy 621 Section I. B. 4.).

iii.  Unannounced Visits. The duty officer goes to the facility to perform an unannounced visit. The time from when the duty officer arrives at the facility until they leave the facility must be reported as ACT time in accordance with Section II. C. above. 

f.	An employee who is assigned to on-call may exchange schedules with another employee provided advance approval is given by the division administrator/Superintendent. 

4. 	Using On-Call Hours (OCT) in Week Two of Payroll

	If on-call hours are earned in week one of a payroll and the employee wants to use those hours in week two, the employee should code the hours earned in week one as OCE and code the hours taken in week two as OCT.  

Examples: 

a.	If the employee earns four hours of on-call in week one and wants to use all four hours in week two, they would code four hours of OCE in week one and code four hours of OCT in week two.  

b.	If the employee earns six hours in week one and wants to use four hours in week two, they would code six hours OCE on week one and four hours OCT on week two. 

5.	Accrual Limits

a. On-call hours may accrue to a maximum of 40 hours and are to be used prior to vacation hours, unless the employee is within 20 hours of their vacation accrual balance maximum. On-call hours will not automatically be paid out upon employee separation from the IDJC. Each organizational unit will be responsible for adherence to the 40-hour limit and for notifying payroll when an employee is terminating and needs the on-call balance manually paid.
 
b. In unusual circumstances, such as periods of high turnover or where new staff are not yet trained to do on-call shifts, a Division Administrator/Superintendent may authorize in writing the accrual of OCH beyond the 40-hour limit for a specified period of time. Division Administrators/Superintendents may also have specific requirements regarding the discharge of on-call hours (i.e., requiring to take on-call hours in the week following on-call status).  

III. Supervisor Responsibilities 

A. Supervisors are responsible for ensuring that time sheets are accurately completed by the employee.
 
No later than 10 a.m. (Mountain time) on the Monday following the end of the pay period, timesheets should be approved and ready for payroll processing. Prior to that time, supervisors will have verified the accuracy of the time, leave, and any shift differential codes used and will approve the timesheet as true and correct. If a supervisor is out of the office/facility, they should ensure timesheets will be approved in the supervisor’s absence.

If Monday is a holiday, timesheets should be approved and ready for payroll processing preferably no later than 9 a.m. (Mountain time) on the Tuesday following the end of the pay period. 

B.	Supervisors should ensure that comments are entered to explain periods of leave (including jury and military leave), unscheduled extended shifts (more than ten hours/day), leave without pay, administrative leave with pay, if employee is called back into work, and any excessive hours of overtime (more than ten hours/week). If the employee has not entered comments to explain these situations, the supervisor should enter the appropriate comment. 

	The supervisor should ensure the employee has submitted the necessary paperwork in advance for time coding used (e.g. jury duty and military leave) and that information is included in the comment.

C.	If the timesheet is incorrect, the supervisor should contact the employee to correct the timesheet. 

D. 	Supervisors should not change the hours reported on the timesheet without discussing the changes with the employee. Supervisors will not subtract any hours actually worked by the employee, including overtime.

E. 	If the employee is unexpectedly absent when timesheets are due, the supervisor must submit a default time sheet, indicating scheduled work hours and leave hours and enter comments as to why they are submitting the employee’s timesheet. If there are any inaccuracies, supervisors are required to submit a corrected time sheet immediately upon the employee’s return.. 

F. Supervisors should approve leave requests in accordance with IDJC policy and with reasonable consideration given for the employee's needs and desires, on the basis of work requirements, and when it will least interfere with the efficient operation of the IDJC. 

G. Supervisors shall receive advance approval from their Division Administrator/Superintendent before any on-going non-standard work schedules (e.g. flex schedules, shifts without an unpaid meal period, telecommuting), on-call duty, and/or scheduled overtime is assigned. 

H. Flex schedules and telecommuting arrangments must be documented and approved in accordance with IDJC policy and procedure 351 (Flextime and Telecommuting). 
 
Reference:	Glossary of Terms and Acronyms
Sections 67-5302, 67-5328, 59-160, Idaho Code
			IDAPA 15.04.01 Rules 260- 262 and Rule 073
			Fair Labor Standards Act 

Desk Manuals:	None

Related Policies:	Flextime and Telecommuting (351)
			Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) (352)
			Sick Leave (353)
			Vacation Leave (355)
			Hours of Work and Rest Periods (349)
			Compensation (346)
			Suicide Prevention and Assessment of Risk (605)
			Duty Officer Responsibilities (621)
			Ethics and Standards of Conduct (324)
			Drug-Free Workplace (327)
 
Related Forms:	None
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